The name Mitta came from the local Aboriginal people who named the Mitta Mitta River – “mida-modunga'(where reeds grow)

The Valley sits at the foothills of the Great Dividing Range, with magnificent views of Mt Bogong. The Mitta Mitta River is perennial, and a direct tributary of the Murray River within the Murray-Darling basin. It defines the Mitta Valley as it flows from the high country, through Lake Dartmouth and meanders down to Lake Hume for 200 kms.

The Valley boasts an annual rainfall of 1100 mm.

The Mitta Mitta Valley was settled by early pastoralists in 1835 and gold was discovered there in 1852. Today dairy farming and beef cattle production have become the principle agricultural pursuit, with the Mitta Valley offering some the finest and productive country in the State. The soils are deep alluvial loam.

Mitta Valley has a population 480 people with 3 major towns being Dartmouth, Mitta Mitta and Eskdale. With the sealing of the Omeo Highway, the Mitta Valley has become a major transport route between Gippsland and Albury Wodonga.